Reset Preferences (Mac)

Updated a month ago ​by George Cox

As of Mac OS 10.9 preferences files are cached by Mac OS. Prior to Mac OS 10.9 you may have been advised to delete your preferences file to recover from various issues. This will no longer work as of Mac OS 10.9 and will in fact cause you problems if you simply delete the file.

The correct and safe way to reset your preferences is the following:

  • Open Terminal.app
  • Run: defaults delete com.jamawkinaw.downcast.mac

If you're reading this article because you already deleted your file manually and your preferences won't stick following a restart of Downcast you will need to log out and restart your Mac to recover. You'll know you are in this state if you find that your preferences reset each time you restart Downcast.


How did we do?